Connect with us

Local News

New academic structure at Arkansas Tech University



Russellville, Arkansas – Starting July 1, Arkansas Tech University has changed its academic structure.

The change breaks the university down into four colleges, each with a focus on an academic discipline, between colleges of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), arts and humanities, business and economic development, education, and health, plus the university’s graduate college.

In 2021, the structure change was developed by a faculty committee and in January was approved by the ATU board of trustees.

“ATU’s new academic structure will position the university to meet the evolving needs of students, faculty, and other important stakeholders,” Julie Furst-Bowe, ATU interim vice president for academic affairs said. “It will also allow ATU to pursue new opportunities, particularly in the STEM disciplines.”

Under the new structure, colleges are:

• College of STEM
• Biological Sciences
• Engineering and Computing Sciences
• Mathematics and Statistics
• Physical and Earth Sciences

• College of Arts and Humanities
• Art
• Behavioral Sciences
• Communication and Media Studies
• English and World Languages
• History and Political Science
• Music

• College of Business and Economic Development
• School of Business
• Agriculture and Tourism

• College of Education and Health
• Teaching and Educational Leadership
• Kinesiology and Rehabilitation Science
• Nursing
• Emergency Management, Professional Studies, and Student Affairs Administration

The Russellville university has just over 10,000 students, with a satellite campus in Ozark.

It was founded in 1909 as Second District Agricultural School and now it offers degrees through the doctoral level.